Coverart for item
The Resource Red butterfly, A.L. Sonnichsen ; illustrated by Amy June Bates

Red butterfly, A.L. Sonnichsen ; illustrated by Amy June Bates

Label
Red butterfly
Title
Red butterfly
Statement of responsibility
A.L. Sonnichsen ; illustrated by Amy June Bates
Creator
Contributor
Author
Illustrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A young orphaned girl in modern-day China discovers the meaning of family in this inspiring story told in verse, in the tradition of Inside Out and Back Again and Sold. Kara never met her birth mother. Abandoned as an infant, she was taken in by an American woman living in China. Now eleven, Kara spends most of her time in their apartment, wondering why she and Mama cannot leave the city of Tianjin and go live with Daddy in Montana. Mama tells Kara to be content with what she has -- but what if Kara secretly wants more? Told in lyrical, moving verse, Red Butterfly is the story of a girl learning to trust her own voice, discovering that love and family are limitless, and finding the wings she needs to reach new heights. - Publisher
Awards note
2016 American Library Association Notable Children's Book.
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Sonnichsen, A. L
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Intended audience
Ages 8-12
Literary form
fiction
Reading level
5.4.
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Bates, Amy June
Study program name
Reading Counts!
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Novels in verse
  • Families
  • Intercountry adoption
  • Adoption
  • Foundlings
  • Abnormalities, Human
  • China
  • Novels in verse
  • Families
  • Intercountry adoption
  • Adoption
  • Foundlings
  • Abnormalities, Human
  • China
  • China
  • Roman en vers
  • Familles
  • Adoption internationale
  • Adoption
  • Enfants trouvés
  • Abnormalities, Human
  • Adoption
  • Families
  • Foundlings
  • Intercountry adoption
  • Novels in verse
  • China
  • Birth defects
  • International adoption
  • Orphans
  • Adoption
  • Family life
  • Novels in verse
  • China
  • China
Target audience
pre adolescent
Label
Red butterfly, A.L. Sonnichsen ; illustrated by Amy June Bates
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
867916039
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
392 pages
Isbn
9781481411103
Lccn
2013050300
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Note
WorldCat record variable field(s) change: 650, 655
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)867916039
Label
Red butterfly, A.L. Sonnichsen ; illustrated by Amy June Bates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
867916039
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
392 pages
Isbn
9781481411103
Lccn
2013050300
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Note
WorldCat record variable field(s) change: 650, 655
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)867916039

Library Locations

    • Portland Public LibraryBorrow it
      5 Monument Square, Portland, ME, 04101, US
      43.657680 -70.258550
    • Riverton BranchBorrow it
      1600 Forest Avenue, Portland, ME, 04103, US
      43.695810 -70.309770